Australian Embassy

Living in Mongolia

Ulaanbaatar (Улаанбаатар), also known as Ulan Bator or simply just UB, is the capital of Mongolia. With a population of around 1.3 million, it is the largest city in Mongolia, standing as its political, commercial, industrial and cultural hub. The city is officially divided into 9 districts, 7 of them located within or around the city area.  In the capital city, the four original districts are Sukhbaatar, Songino Khairkhan, Bayanzurkh and Bayangol where majority of the city population live today. Most downtown premises are located in the Sukhbaatar district. Like many capital cities in the world, Ulaanbaatar offers variety of sightseeing options ranging from historical sites such as monasteries to museums, monument and parks. Most of the historical sites, monasteries and museums are within a walking distance from the central square Chinggis Khaan. Note that most tourist sites have a separate camera/video fee (typically ₮10000-25000) in addition to the entrance fee.

Security and Travelling in Mongolia

We recommend you visit which includes specific travel advice for Mongolia as well as general advice on a range of travel topics.

Emergency Contact







Emergency Department


Traffic Police


Immigration Office

1900 1882

Ulaanbaatar Telephone Inquiry

1900 1109

Hotline for Taxis


Climate and Pollution

Mongolia is a land of extremes. With over 260 sunny days a year, Mongolia is justifiably known as the ‘Land of Blue Sky’. In Ulaanbaatar, the winter (December to March) is long and cold, with temperatures often dropping down to minus 30C in January and February. You can expect some intense dust storms during the short spring (March to June). The summer (June to September) is pleasant without being too hot.


In winter, the pollution from coal burning fires and power stations and surrounding ger districts is extreme. Ulaanbaatar has one of the worst air pollution levels in Asia during winter.

Cash, Banking and Credit Cards

Mongolian currency is called Tugrik (MNT). The basic unit is tugrik (₮) and comes in denominations of 20,000; 10,000; 5,000; 1,000; 500; 100; 50; 20; 10 and 1, 3 and 5 being less common.

Currency exchange: Local shops will only accept local currency. Official organizations authorised to exchange foreign currency include commercial banks in Ulaanbaatar and bureau de change found along the streets and in hotels. Rates vary slightly and are likely to be lower in hotels. Licensed exchange locations can be found at:

Banking: As a general guide, most banks are open Monday to Friday 9:00am to 5:00 pm, though many stay open until 7:00pm and some are open 24 hours (eg some branches of Golomt bank). Credit cards are widely accepted in Mongolia however you may be required to pay cash in taxis and some shops.

Tipping is not required in Mongolia, however it is appreciated.

Automatic Teller Machines-ATMs can be found in many locations such as banks, shops, office buildings and the airport. These can be used to withdraw local MNT. Cash withdrawals using international credit cards can only be made on ATMs with “plus” and “SIRRUS” labels and as well as through Visa cards and MasterCard. Cash withdrawals from a bank using your international card will require identification to be shown.